soft pretzels

February 9, 2010

I made these soft pretzels for a Superbowl Party hosted by our friends. Now all of my friends in this friend group are absurdly talented. I mean make-their-own-baby-clothes, make-marshmallows-from-scratch, tile-their-own-bathrooms-talented, and we always seem to enjoy thinking of real show-stoppers to make for potlucks. So I thought a mini version of soft pretzels might go  over well, and they were a big hit! I was surprised because I thought they weren’t as difficult as I’d expected. There were a lot of steps, but none of them were too tricky.

I tried a few with cinnamon and sugar but they just weren’t as good. I think you need to add a LOT of sugar to make it work. If you’d like to try it, I’d suggest brushing the pretzels with butter instead of egg+water, then adding about one tablespoon sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon to each pretzel. But I still maintain that the plain old rock salt and some spicy mustard for dipping are the very best. Especially when accompanied by a nice cold beer.

Also, a note. This dough calls for warm water. With bread dough, it is always better for your water to be too cool than too hot. Water that is too hot will kill the yeast and your dough won’t rise. To test the temperature of the water (because both my cheap candy thermometer and my cheap meat thermometer are off by a good 20-30 degrees–if you buy one, buy an EXPENSIVE or at least moderately priced one) use my mom’s trick: run the water over the skin of your inner wrist. The skin there is thin, and will help you feel the true temperature of the water.

This recipe is from smittenkitchen.com (the BEST food blog, if you ask me)

SOFT PRETZELS (by Deb from smittenkitchen.com)

One Response to “soft pretzels”

  1. Kate Martinez Says:

    very yummy!! I loved your pretzels!


Leave a Reply

