oh, summer

February 10, 2010

You know, it’s very difficult for me to complain about the winter in the city where I live. It is generally pretty mild, and there’s skiing very nearby. But if there is one thing about winter anyplace-even here, that makes me pine for 80 degree weather and suntan lotion, it’s the inability of any store in this area to carry fresh rhubarb in February.

Now I love Alice Waters, and I am all for the Slow Food Revolution. I try my very best to eat in season and eat local food (as much as my wallet allows, anyway). But my very favorite pie is strawberry rhubarb pie. I have a recipe for rhubarb chutney I have been dying to try since NOVEMBER, when I began flipping through The Joy of Pickling. And if I could pay $100 now for illegally imported rhubarb, I’d do it. Without shame.

Since I can’t live out my rhubarb fantasies just yet, I figured I’d reminisce on rhubarb of the past. This is a strawberry rhubarb pie that I made last July. It was my very first successful Crisco piecrust. It made me think of my Grandpa Joe who loved strawberry rhubarb pie. That huge dent in the 9 inch pie was made by Will and me over the course of 40 minutes at midnight. Until this summer, Rhubarb, thanks for the memories.

CRISCO DOUBLE PIE CRUST  

Crisco Double Pie Crust Recipe

STRAWBERRY RHUBARB FILLING (adapted from Rochelle Huppen-Fleck http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/strawberry-rhubarb-pie-recipe/index.html)

3 lbs fresh rhubarb, sliced into 1 inch pieces 

2 pints fresh strawberries, thinly sliced

1 1/2 cups white sugar

4 tablespoons all purpose flour

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

TO BRUSH OVER TOP OF PIE BEFORE BAKING

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 whole egg, beaten

TO BEGIN:

Make pie dough according to Crisco instructions. Combine rhubarb and strawberries in a large bowl, then add sugar and flour and mix in with fruit. Let sit while rolling out pie dough. 

Preheat oven 425 degrees F. Butter 9 inch pie pan. Roll out 1/2 pie dough to be about 1/8 inch thick and with overlap 1 inch diameter larger than pie plate. Fit into pie plate. Don’t trim extra pie dough off just yet. Fill pie with fruit filling. Cut 2 tbsp butter into little pieces, place them on top of fruit filling. Brush beaten egg with pastry brush around rim of pie. Roll out remaining dough, cut into strips, create lattice top. Brush lattice with beaten egg. Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Bake for 10 mins at 425, then lower oven temperature to 350 and bake for 60 mins. 

Pie is done when golden brown and juices bubbling from pie appear thickened.

YUM

3 Responses to “oh, summer”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    EB,

    You have blown me away with your blog! Very P R O F E S S I O N A L!!

  2. nelie Says:

    OMG ELIZABETH! Alice Waters Art of Simple Food is my favorite cookbook!

    We have to get together and pickle some veggies….

    MY favorite recipe of hers is the onion tart… never fails me!


  3. […] the parsley and the carrots was… RHUBARB! I haven’t seen it since last summer, though I have fantasized about it’s return. I know it’s a bit early for rhubarb, but I am impatient by nature and bought a bunch of it. […]


Leave a Reply

