Canned Pears Poached in Wine

February 23, 2010

At the beginning of the fall, I began canning. I had free time on my hands, (due to that whole lovely work 13-hour shifts 3 days-a-week thing that nurses get to do), and quickly reached my quota of filling it by watching tv. Shhh… it was mostly reality tv. *Shame*.

I started with pickles (a great first step, for you aspiring canners out there), then moved to applesauce (an excellent second step), then jam, jellies, and a whole host of things ordinary and weird (sweet pickled pumpkin, anyone?). I think the thing that kept me canning is just that I think it is just SO COOL. Tonite, in the dead of winter, I ate a perfect October pear, frozen in time. YUM. You can’t even get that at Whole Foods right now!

And to me, Canned Poached Pears is, to date, the most awesome thing I have ever made in my kitchen. Not because of the taste, though. Don’t get me wrong, it is a delicious, savory dessert. But the idea that I am preserving fruit when it is just perfect, then poaching it while it is already sealed in the jars (preserving the alcohol content-YES!), then cracking a jar open for an elaborate, special occasion dessert 6 months to 2 years after I made it is, to me, nothing short of awesome. Because sometimes when I am in my kitchen I feel more like a magician than a cook. Just call me a Canning Wizard. Or… Canning Sorceress?* You could also just call me a nerd. Well, whatever you call me, I’ve got a whole bunch of pears sitting in my pantry just waiting for me to gobble them up. Now THAT is cool.

CANNED POACHED PEARS

nytimes.com

*This is the conversation I just had with Will

Elizabeth: Will, what’s the female form of Wizard?

Will: Maybe, Sorceress? But if you’d played Dungeons & Dragons you’d know that Wizards and Sorcerers are not the same, duh-uh!

2 Responses to “Canned Pears Poached in Wine”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    Your recipes are awesome, followed by your great gift for storytelling EB!! Thank’s! xxxooomom


  2. […] on canning: Canned Pears Poached in Wine Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Eggs Baked In Tomato Sauce Posted by […]


Leave a Reply

