Roasted Broccoli

February 24, 2010

This is Will’s and my go-to recipe for a vegetable side dish. Mine is just a little differen’t from Ina Garten’s recipe, for three reasons: 1) I almost never remember to buy fresh basil in the winter 2) Will figured out that tossing the broccoli with the olive oil and garlic before baking allows you to coat the broccoli more evenly while using less olive than you would by just drizzling. 3) I never think toasting my pine nuts is worth the time commitment given that I think they are very tasty raw.

I couldn’t find any good broccoli stories or jokes to tell you, so I figured I’d give you two tips regarding ingredients in this recipe.

1) If Parmesano Reggiano cheese was not $29.99/lb, I’d buy huge chunks of and grate it fresh myself every day with (almost) every meal. I still like it for special occasions, but an excellent everyday substitute with a similar flavor at 1/3 the price is Pecorino Romano. Try it out and let me know what you think.

2) Speaking of expensive, pine nuts cost an arm and a leg! The cheapest I’ve found are at Costco, where a 1.5lb bag costs a little under $20. This is remarkably less expensive than any I’ve found at the supermarket. Pine nuts last a very long time, and you usually have to use only a few tablespoons for a recipe. Plus, if you keep pine nuts around your house you can make exciting things like pesto! Or this recipe!

ROASTED BROCCOLI (adapted from Ina Garten’s Parmesan Roasted Broccoli)

Ingredients

4-5 lbs broccoli

4 garlic cloves

4 tablespoons olive oil

1.5 teaspoons kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

2 teaspoons grated lemon zest

2 tablespoons lemon juice

3 tablespoons pine nuts

1/3 cup parmesan cheese

Recipe

Preheat oven to 425. Wash broccoli and chop into pieces. Mince garlic. Toss broccoli, garlic, and olive oil in a bowl. Put mixture on an aluminum-foil lined baking sheet (for easy clean-up) and roast in the oven for 10 minutes. Toss the broccoli mixture in a bowl with salt, black pepper, lemon zest, lemon juice, pine nuts, and parmesan cheese.

One Response to “Roasted Broccoli”


  1. […] tomato sandwiches, strawberry + goat cheese + spinach salad, coconut chicken fingers, beet greens, roasted broccoli, and eggs-baked-in-tomato sauce). I am sure there are a few “old standards” I […]


Leave a Reply

