Coconut Chicken Fingers

March 16, 2010

I must be dreaming of warmer climates or something with all this coconut I’ve been using recently. Who doesn’t love a good chicken finger? Particularly one that’s healthy for you. Eating chicken fingers is way more fun than eating a plain old chicken breast. Plus there’s no silverware to wash when you’re done.

It also reminded me of an episode of  No Reservations about Paris, where Anthony Bourdain and a friend go to a giant meat market where the poultry is defeathered, BUT THE HEADS ARE STILL ATTACHED. Picture a whole chicken like you might see wrapped in Saran at the supermarket, but with a chicken head pluming with feathers on top. This is, apparently normal in France. And it was supposed to illustrate how out of touch we Americans are with our food. That we need our chicken breasts neatly defeathered, skinned, and wrapped in Saran, no heads attached here. 

 I’ve spoken before about how I squeal at raw chicken organs, but I wonder if learning more about my food source would make me a better cook? My friend Leah, and her boyfriend, Kevin, have pet chickens, and Kevin is going to try to kill and prepare a chicken “for the experience of it.” I admire their ambition. I’d be intrigued to try it, but I wonder if it would make me cringe when I saw the cooked bird on the table. Let me ask each of you. What would you do if you’re chicken came with a feathered head attached? Do any of you have any ambitions to kill and clean your proteins?

Well, food philosophy aside, these chicken fingers are lovely. They will awaken your inner child! 

COCONUT CHICKEN FINGERS 

Ingredients

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

1/2 tablespoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

3-4 chicken breasts

Recipe

Preheat oven to 375. Scramble eggs in a bowl. In a separate bowl mix breadcrumbs, coconut, paprika, salt, and pepper. Cut chicken into strips (about 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick). Dip a chicken strip into eggs, then dredge in breadcrumb mixture, then place on cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining chicken strips. Bake for 15-20 minutes until chicken is golden brown, and fully cooked through (test this by slicing the thickest strip in half and making sure no pink remains).

4 Responses to “Coconut Chicken Fingers”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    In answer to your question, I guess I “could” mount the chicken head and hang it in my kitchen as hunters do. It could be my trophy chicken. . .?

  2. Leah Says:

    Kevin wants to kill the chicken, but I’m not sure I would have the stomach to help him with this process… haha, we’ll see what happens.

  3. Cousin A Says:

    I like to “buy” my chicken plucked and de-headed. Larry on the other hand would love to kill a chicken, or any fowl for that matter.
    These chicken fingers look amazing. I am a huge coconut fan. So is Ava. This could be a meal the whole family could enjoy. I’m gonna try these!

    xoxox
    Amy


  4. […] vegetables, open-faced goat cheese and tomato sandwiches, strawberry + goat cheese + spinach salad, coconut chicken fingers, beet greens, roasted broccoli, and eggs-baked-in-tomato sauce). I am sure there are a few […]


Leave a Reply

