Strawberry-Rhubarb Compote

March 30, 2010

I almost let out a shriek of delight in the produce aisle today. I was scanning the vegetables when, there, nested between the parsley and the carrots was… RHUBARB! I haven’t seen it since last summer, though I have fantasized about it’s return. I know it’s a bit early for rhubarb, but I am impatient by nature and bought a bunch of it. I had no idea what I’d make with it, but I figured 6 stalks should have me covered. (Yes, I do have a tendency to get carried away, in case you haven’t noticed).

Then, as if fate was intervening in my dessert menu for tonite, strawberries were $2.99 per pint! So I bought 4 pints. Thankfully, I know how to can, which is what I did tonite. Can lots of Strawberry-Rhubarb Compote and  spoon a bunch of it over vanilla ice cream.

If you would like to read more about buying and preparing rhubarb, click here for a nice rhubarb rundown. Here is the gist of it: chop the ends off your rhubarb, remove any dark spots with a vegetable peeler, and, most importantly, DO NOT EAT THE LEAVES. They are poisonous. This is why rhubarb is the badass of the vegetable world. And yes, it is a vegetable!


If you like rhubarb you’ll love this. I’m already making plans for my canned compote. These plans include a slump and a topping for waffles. I could also probably eat it straight up. When I was eating this dessert, I kind of went into a rhubarb trance and when I finally came to, I was licking the bowl and Will was laughing.  Now that is what I call a success!

STRAWBERRY RHUBARB COMPOTE (from Martha Stewart Weddings)

I wound up doubling this recipe so I could can it. And because I impulse purchased 6 stalks of rhubarb at the store.

Ingredients

2 cups fresh strawberries (rinsed, hulled, chopped)

1/4 cup plus 1/3 cup sugar

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

2 3/4 cups trimmed rhubarb, cut into 1/4 in pieces (about 2 large stalks)

2 tablespoons water

Recipe

  1. Stir strawberries, 1/4 cup sugar, and lemon juice in a small nonreactive pan; bring to a simmer over medium heat. Cook, stirring often, until softened, about 3 minutes. Remove strawberries; place in a bowl and let cool. Set aside pan with strawberry liquid.
  2. Meanwhile, in another small pan over medium-low heat, combine rhubarb, remaining 1/3 cup sugar, and the water. Simmer gently, stirring often, until sugar is dissolved and rhubarb is almost tender, about 6 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer rhubarb to bowl with strawberries. Add strawberry liquid to pan.
  3. Raise heat to medium and simmer until thickened and reduced to 1/2 cup, about 10 minutes. Let cool. Stir into strawberry-rhubarb mixture.
One Response to “Strawberry-Rhubarb Compote”

  1. ro ro Says:

    my precious niece,,,JULIA CHILD must be looking down at you with such admiration xoxoxoxo
    i love you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

