No-Knead Bread

April 10, 2010

You can criticize the bread you make at home, but it’s hard. It could always be lighter, the crust could always be crustier, the top could always be browned a bit more, but the truth is that something warm from the oven slathered with butter and jam is almost always perfect. I have made many imperfect breads, but I have never been disappointed once I take that first, warm bite. I implore you to make your own bread at home. Try it once and you’ll be hooked! Intimidating by kneading? Start with this bread. That’s right, no kneading involved.

It’s a bit of an internet phenomenon among us food blogger types. I have read about this bread over and over again. Bread that you stir together in a bowl, let rise for 12-18 hours (whatever time range is most convenient for you), cover in cornmeal, and bake in the oven. Sometimes referred to as “Bread for Dummies.” This particular dummy added 7 TIMES THE AMOUNT OF NECESSARY YEAST. Durrrrr. I considered not starting over, then googled my error and found that this can lead to bread that tastes like stale beer and/or bread that doesn’t rise. So I started over. I really don’t know why I wouldn’t have started over. The prep time is 3 minutes and flour, salt, and yeast are dirt cheap anyway. It was PHENOMENAL. It ties with sea salt and rosemary focaccia (recipe coming soon) as my favorite homemade bread. I slathered this winner with peach jam. 

In other news, welcome back camera! To celebrate, here’s an short and sweet article on how to take pictures of food.

NO KNEAD BREAD (by Mark Bittman of the New York Times) A note: You can substitute 1/3 teaspoon active dry yeast for 1/4 teaspoon instant yeast (thanks for this substitution info to Deb from smittenkitchen)

2 Responses to “No-Knead Bread”

  1. Leah Says:

    There’s also a video of how to do it for those like me who are intimidated by this process.

    http://video.nytimes.com/video/2006/11/07/dining/1194817104184/no-knead-bread.html


Leave a Reply

