Mango Salsa

April 22, 2010

Let me preface this by saying that this recipe turned out poorly. Don’t be fooled by my colorful pictures. It was waaaay too onion-y and bitter for my taste. However, it wasn’t totally fruitless (har). Along the way, I found this excellent tutorial on how to cut a mango. And, for the first time in my life, I started with a mise en place. It felt like it took a billion extra hours but I did it.

Will has a very unfortunate impediment for a food lover–Will hates onions. I can slip them into food if I cook them, sometimes, but he really detests them raw. I only like them raw in salsa or guacamole so this hardly ever impairs my cooking. I thought if I made the salsa early and let it rest for a while, the acid in the lime might cut through some of the onion-y taste. No such luck. Oh well. I’ll look for a recipe with a higher mango to onion ratio next time. Any suggestions? And speaking of food impediments, here’s an interesting article for you few but mighty cilantro-haters out here. Turns out your revulsion may not be your fault, it might just be the fault of evolution.

Well, I’m bummed I don’t have a good recipe to share this post. I’m sorry, friends. But here’s a picture of an onion wearing a mango hat!

MANGO SALSA (adapted from Ellie Krieger’s Mango Salsa)

Ingredients

1 mango, peeled and diced

1/2 cup peeled, diced cucumber (mushy inside and seeds removed)

1 tablespoon finely chopped jalapeno

1/3 cup diced red onion

1 tablespoon lime juice

1/3 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves

Salt & Pepper (to taste)

Recipe

Combine all ingredients in bowl. Let sit at least 30 minutes before serving.

One Response to “Mango Salsa”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    EB,

    I have read but never tried, that boiling the sliced onion for a short time before using in a recipe calling for “raw” onion can help.

    Hugs,

    Mom


Leave a Reply

