Beef Satay with Peanut Sauce

May 2, 2010

I have been somewhat of an absent blogger these days for three reasons 1) Spring fever. 2) Laziness 3) Exhausting my “old standard” recipes. You see many of my old posts were courtesy of things I’ve been making in my kitchen for a few years. If I didn’t feel like trying out a recipe or learning a new skill, I just photographed and wrote about something I make all the time (ie: pasta sauce, banana bread, oatmeal raisin coconut cookies, roasted vegetables, open-faced goat cheese and tomato sandwiches, strawberry + goat cheese + spinach salad, coconut chicken fingers, beet greens, roasted broccoli, and eggs-baked-in-tomato sauce). I am sure there are a few “old standards” I haven’t blogged about that have slipped my mind, but those are pretty much what I do when I’m too tired to learn new things.

Now it is apparent that in order to keep blogging, I need to expand my skills. Which is good and worked out well today. I had to buy lots of new things at the store I’ve never bought before: Fish sauce, sesame seed oil, rice wine vinegar, and teriyaki sauce. Some of you may be thinking, “Wow, these are really elementary things that she’s never bought!” Well, you’re right. I’ve never tried to cook Asian food before!

I pretty much adhered to the recipe. I only substituted hot chili powder for cayenne pepper (add a little at a time and taste as you go to make it just the right amount of spice for your personal taste) because I was out of it, and I used a grill pan instead of a Hibachi or indoor grill. Oh, and I forgot skewers. But despite all this it was still awesome. I’ll make the recipe for the Asian Slaw I made to go with it next post. I have loved Thai food and it was awesome to make it in my own apt! I highly recommend this.

BEEF SATAY WITH PEANUT SAUCE (adapted from Beef Satay with Peanut Dipping Sauce by Emeril Lagasse)

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 lb skirt, flank, or sirloin tip steak, cut into thin, wide strips against the grain

1/2 cup teriyaki sauce

1/2 tablespoon minced ginger, plus 1 teaspoon

1 tablespoon minced garlic, plus 1 teaspoon

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons smooth peanut butter

1/4 cup unsweetend coconut milk

3/4 teaspoons sesame oil

2 teaspoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon brown sugar

Juice of 1 lime

1/4 teaspoon Thai fish sauce

1/8 – 1/2 teaspoon hot chili power

1/2 tablespoon chopped cilantro

1/2 tablespoon chopped dry roasted peanuts

Recipe

Place beef strips in a medium-sized bowl and pour teriyaki sauce over them. Add 1 tablespoon of ginger, 1 tablespoon garlic, and the salt. Swish beef around in sauce, then cover and place in the fridge to marinate while you make the peanut sauce.

In a small bowl, combine remaining ginger, peanut butter, and coconut milk and whisk together. Add sesame oil, soy sauce, brown sugar, lime juice, fish sauce,  chili powder, and 1 teaspoon garlic to the bowl and whisk to combine. Place the sauce in a serving bowl and garnish with cilantro and chopped peanuts. To serve the satays, set up a Hibachi or indoor grill or grill pan (I used a grill pan on medium high heat). Remove beef strips from the fridge and use skewers to thread the meat. Grill 30 seconds to 1 minute on each side for medium rare. Serve with peanut dipping sauce.

One Response to “Beef Satay with Peanut Sauce”


  1. […] stuff, but I LOVE raw cabbage salad. It is a great counter to spicy food like the aforementioned Beef Satay with Peanut Sauce. The only thing about buying cabbage is that it yields a STUNNING amount of cabbage. Particularly […]


Leave a Reply

