Asian Slaw

May 3, 2010

Today, I saw a tiny little girl, about 3 or 4, going to town on a giant muffin with a huge smile on her face. I said to her, “That’s a pretty big muffin you got there.” She smiled and said, “I’m gonna eat the whole thing!” Then she looked at my box. She asked, “What are you gonna eat?” I told her I had a ham and cheese sandwich. She looked from her muffin to my box and scrunched up her face, then said, “Why?” I cracked up.

When I was a kid, I couldn’t wait until the day when I was a grownup with my own car and my own money and could just eat candy and cupcakes all day long. Now that I am a grownup, I do boring things like file income taxes and select color palettes and eat ham and cheese sandwiches. Sometimes. But I’ve still got the infinite bliss of a toddler chomping on a giant chocolate chip muffin whenever I eat something really delicious.

Speaking of grown-up tastes, cabbage is one thing I fantasized outlawing from my grown-up kitchen when I was a kid. I am still not a fan of the cooked stuff, but I LOVE raw cabbage salad. It is a great counter to spicy food like the aforementioned Beef Satay with Peanut Sauce. The only thing about buying cabbage is that it yields a STUNNING amount of cabbage. Particularly if you want to be all cool and have purple AND green cabbage. I don’t know what we are going to do with that…

I altered the recipe a bit. I didn’t have a food processor so I just chopped everything finely as possible. The serrano peppers I bought were very spicy, so I only used one. I left out the green onions for my resident onion-hater, and I left out the peppers since Will isn’t such a fan of those either. And I halved the amount of Napa cabbage so I could add purple cabbage for an awesomely colored purple and green slaw.

ASIAN SLAW (adapted from Alton Brown’s Asian Slaw)

Serves a small army (8-10, realistically)

Ingredients

1 (3 inch) piece ginger, grated fine

1/2 cup rice wine vinegar

1 lime, juiced

2 tablespoons sesame oil

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

1/2 head Napa cabbage, sliced thin

1 head small purple cabbage, sliced thin

1 serrano chile, minced fine

2 tablespoons chiffonade cilantro

2 tablespoons chiffonade mint

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Recipe

In a small bowl or food processor combine ginger, vinegar soy sauce, lime juice, oil, and peanut butter. In a large bowl, combine other ingredients and then toss with dressing.

Leave a Reply

