Sweet Balsamic Cherry Tomatoes

May 28, 2010

I’m back! First I was on vacation two weeks and then, oh and THEN Will and I got engaged! I’ve been sidetracked with the excitement of all that and have been horribly absent in my kitchen. Mostly, I’ve been making old standards if anything more than a sandwich! My time has been taken up by work and doing things like joining theknot.com and attempting to choose a color palette. But now I am back. Back in action. Attempting to become a good housefiancee. And, just in time, as our CSA starts this Wednesday!

I have a deep love for cherry tomatoes. My three favorite ways to eat them are a) straight up, possibly with a shake of salt.* b) roasted in the oven. and c) this way. A little balsamic, a little olive oil, a little honey, pine nuts, a little time in the pan. It’s so lovely, particularly with a red meat of some kind. I realized a bit too late that the warmth of the dish may have been a bit much for our steamy apartment, but it was still lovely. 

* Truth be told, straight up is my absolute favorite way to eat almost any kind of produce. I hardly ever make jam because boiling beautiful and fresh produce in a pot makes me die a little inside. Also because I hardly believe anyone can make a better jam than Bonne Maman. Seriously, that stuff is perfect. Of course I love a little variation now and then. This is an excellent variation.

SWEET BALSAMIC CHERRY TOMATOES (adapted from Gourmet Nutrition by Dr. John M Berardi, Michael Williams, & Kristina Andrew)

Serves 2

Ingredients

1 tablespoon EVOO

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon honey

1 pint cherry tomatoes or grape tomatoes

1/3 cup pine nuts

2 pinches salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Recipe

Preheat a non-stick frying pan on medium heat. Add EVOO, vinegar, honey, tomatoes, pine nuts, salt and pepper and saute until tomatoes are hot to the touch. Remove tomatoes from pan, leaving the sauce and pine nuts. Continue cooking until the sauce begins to thicken. Pour the sauce over the tomatoes.

2 Responses to “Sweet Balsamic Cherry Tomatoes”


  1. […] More on cherry tomatoes: Sweet Balsamic Cherry Tomatoes […]


  2. […] Sweet Balsamic Cherry Tomatoes, Roasted Tomato and Goat Cheese Sandwich […]


Leave a Reply

