Rustic Strawberry Tart

June 4, 2010

There was a giant box (2lbs!) of strawberries on sale at Whole Foods and I decided to go for it. This summery weather does not entice me to spend long hours in the kitchen, but most of this particular day was cloudy and so I decided to make a tart. YUM. I wish I’d made four! I wouldn’t say this is the greatest pie crust I’ve ever made, (not quite as flaky as I wanted), but it’s still really good. Also, I have a secret. I have done something some may say is unforgivable. I made a pie crust from… Cooking Light.  I know, I know. But it seriously didn’t taste like it was light. It was quite delicious, actually.

Is anyone here good at rolling dough into a circle while it’s encased in Saran Wrap? I managed to form something that resembled a parallelogram, but that’s about as close as it got. Fortunately, the name rustic allots for such derivations from the instructions. The truth is, I love things that are rustic and imperfect because I love things that look homemade. Attempting to arrange my strawberries in concentric circles for this tart was laughably futile but the tarts were still charming to me.

So there you go. You can pile on some whipped cream or some ice cream or just eat it straight up and cold like I did at work. It was a much needed break from a crazy day! And, believe it or not, you can’t tell it’s light (I mean, without the whipped cream of course). Seriously, I wouldn’t lie to you. I just thought I’d venture outside the box in honor of swimsuit season. And I am so glad I did!

Tune in next time when Will and I receive our first CSA delivery of the season and figure out what to do with 3lbs mixed field greens, 3lbs arugala, 3lbs spinach, 3lbs of an unidentifiable leafy green, mustard greens, green onions, and easter radishes. You know, besides eat salad for breakfast (TWICE!)

RUSTIC STRAWBERRY TART (adapted from Rustic Strawberry Tart at TheKitchenSinkRecipes.com who adapted it from Cooking Light)

Serves 4, makes two tarts

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces, divided

3 1/2 tablespoons ice water

2 cups sliced strawberries

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons lemon juice

Zest of half a lemon

1/2 teaspoon corn starch

1 pinch salt

2 tablespoon Sugar in the Raw

To prepare crust, lightly spoon 1 cup flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine 1 cup flour and 1/8 teaspoon salt in a medium bowl; cut in 3 tablespoons butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 3 1/2 tablespoons ice water; stir just until moist. Turn dough out onto a heavily floured surface; knead lightly 5 times. Divide dough into 2 equal portions. Place each dough portion between 2 sheets of plastic wrap; roll each dough portion, still covered, into an 8-inch circle. Chill 20 to 30 minutes (until the plastic wrap peels easily away from the dough).

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the berries, sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest, corn starch and salt. Stir to combine.

Preheat oven to 350°. Uncover dough; place dough circles on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Arrange half of the strawberries in a pinwheel pattern in one of the dough circles, starting in the middle and forming concentric circles of strawberries, leaving a 2-inch border. Repeat with the second dough circle and remaining berries.

Fold up the edges of the dough circles over the berries, crimping to seal. Lightly brush the pastry with the beaten egg. Sprinkle the two rounds with the raw sugar.

Bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown.

2 Responses to “Rustic Strawberry Tart”


  1. […] post, I told you that Will and I were busy trying to figure out what to do with the produce from our very first CSA pickup of the season. I identified the leafy mystery green as red spinach, which has a magenta vein and a slightly more […]


  2. […] you people are going to do with me. I promise, this is the last in my run of things baked in tarts. The strawberries, the spinach, and now MORE spinach. And all in a row too. Well, I promise, this is the last of my […]


Leave a Reply

