Spinach Quiche

June 9, 2010

Oh, dear. I don’t know what you people are going to do with me. I promise, this is the last in my run of things baked in tarts. The strawberries, the spinach, and now MORE spinach. And all in a row too. Well, I promise, this is the last of my run (for now, anyway). It’s just that the marvelous thought of dinner in a pie crust never really occurred to me until Sunday and now I just can’t let it go. Especially since I forgot how phenomenal quiches are, hot, cold, room temperature. A true marvel of nature I’d say.

Well, like Will said, “Mmm. Pie for dinner. This is a good trend.” It kind of reminds me of a little healthy trick my Grandma Rose played on me when I was a kid. I would ask for more ice cream, but instead of ice cream, she would offer me a mashed up banana in an ice cream cone. And naively, I enjoyed this mashed up banana with the same gusto I’d use to enjoy actual ice cream. You can consume massive amounts of healthy things, (remember the 12 cups of spinach from last time?) when placed in a pie crust.

Hey, you know what else is awesome about pie for dinner? Using the leftover dough scraps for dessert! Mini hand pies. Oh, I know, the crust isn’t technically a dessert pie crust given the lack of sugar and butter. But with a quick roll out, a stuffing of jam and/or chocolate chips and/or shredded coconut, and a dusting of raw sugar, it makes for a GREAT end of a meal. Yep, pie for dinner and dessert. Twice in 2 hours. That’s right. Because around here, that’s just how we roll.


SPINACH QUICHE (by Deb from smittenkitchen.com, previously adapted from Bon Appetit). The only thing I changed was using my Olive Oil Dough recipe instead of Martha Stewart’s Pate Brisee

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

1/2 recipe Olive Oil Dough

1 3-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup half and half (or milk)
3 eggs
1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
1/2 cup grated cheddar (gruyere works well, too)
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
4 to 6 green onions, thinly sliced (1/2 cup finely diced red or white onion or shallots work as well)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Recipe

Preheat oven to 425°. Beat cream cheese in medium bowl until smooth. Gradually beat in half and half and eggs. Mix in remaining ingredients. Pour mixture into prepared crust. Bake until crust is golden brown and filling is set, about 25 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.

3 Responses to “Spinach Quiche”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    Please come home real soon EB, I NEED one of your quiches! xoMom


  2. […] SPINACH QUICHE A slice of cold, quiche is my ideal meal for a hot summer day. The crust on this one is easy to […]


  3. […] More on spinach: Spinach, Strawberry, and Goat Cheese Salad, Spinach Pie, Spinach Quiche. […]


Leave a Reply

