Basic Pizza Dough

July 19, 2010

I am a woman of my word. I told you I would conquer my most recent Achilles heel–pizza dough–and conquer it I did. I realized that I might as well use a recipe from smittenkitchen, as Deb has never, ever led me astray. It was great, easy to make, and I doubt I’ll ever get the store bought stuff again.

I topped this beauty with my Grandma Rose’s pasta sauce, a bit of parmesan, mozzarella, fresh basil, and fresh cracked pepper and salt. Will and I ate it while watching Arrested Development. Speaking of which, why did it take me so long to start watching that show? It is the funniest thing I’ve ever seen.

So, should I have homemade pizza for the third time this week. Well, as Gob has said, “My gut is telling me no… but my gut is also very hungry…”

BASIC PIZZA DOUGH (adapted in the slightest way from Really Simple Homemade Pizza by Deb at smittenkitchen)

I err on the side of using less flour rather than more, due to living in a dry climate. If you live at sea level, use the full 1 1/2 cups flour.

Ingredients

1 1/4-1 1/2 cups flour (can replace up to half of this with whole wheat flour)
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon active dry yeast
1/2 cup lukewarm water (may need up to 1 or 2 tablespoons more)
1 tablespoon olive oil

Recipe

Stir dry ingredients, including yeast, in a large bowl. Add water and olive oil, stirring mixture into as close to a ball as you can. Dump all clumps and floury bits onto a lightly floured surface and knead everything into a homogeneous ball.

Knead for 1-2 minutes. Lightly oil a bowl. Dump the dough in, turn it over so all sides are coated, cover it in plastic wrap and leave it undisturbed for an hour or two, until it has doubled in size.

Dump it back on the floured counter, and gently press the air out of the dough with the palm of your hands. Fold the piece into an approximate ball shape, and let it sit under the plastic wrap for 20 more minutes.

Sprinkle a pizza stone or baking sheet with cornmeal and preheat your oven to its top temperature. Roll out the pizza, toss on whatever topping and seasonings you like.

Bake it for about 10 minutes, tossing an ice cube into the oven about every 3 minutes to crisp and brown the crust.

4 Responses to “Basic Pizza Dough”

  1. Chris LaSota Says:

    It took me about a dozen pizzas before I found a dough technique that worked. Now, I knead for 15 minutes in my KithenAid mixer and then plop the dough into an oiled 1 gallon ziploc bag, squeeze out the air and let it rise in the fridge overnight. It comes out tasty, chewy, relatively uniform, and easy to work. Cooked on a pizza stone, it’s almost as good as the real Italian pizza I had growing up.


  2. […] Did this recipe make you hungry for pizza? Basic Pizza Dough […]


  3. […] dough, about 1lb (homemade or store-bought. Click here for how to make your own, and if you do double the dough […]


Leave a Reply

