Beet Salad with Orange Zest and Goat Cheese

August 10, 2010

Will and I planned to hike a 14er today with two of my friends, but weather destroyed our outdoorsy plans. As a substitue we went out to lunch, went on a brewery tour, and then spent a luxurious 4 hours at my most favorite restaurant during their all-night happy hour. It was a great day. Perhaps the greatest moment is when the waiter mistakenly thought we ordered another round of beets. He said, “Oh, you guys didn’t order these? Well, would anyone like them?” And, though I was full of wine and tapas, my hand shot up like a rocket and I consumed my SECOND order of beets for the night.

In case you couldn’t tell by my story, or by simply knowing me and my accompanying oddities, I am, unabashedly, a beet freak. If you are jealous of my Beet Love and would like to like beets, this would be a good gateway salad to get you on the beet train. In the difficult-to-find but absolutely-wonderful Chez Panisse Vegetables, Alice Waters recommends creating a salad with beets, orange zest, sherry vinegar, and thyme. I thought a bit of goat cheese couldn’t hurt that lovely equation one bit, and I must say that was right. The only problem with beets is the stains they leave. Check me out.

HAWT. Out, damn’d spot! I always forget that even after I wash my hands I the beet stain still spreads to my dishtowels, silverware, arms. So how much do you think I liked this salad?

This is me licking the bowl. I am a classy broad. As Will said, “You know, Elizabeth, most people don’t just drink the leftover beet juice…” I am not most people. Clearly.

More on beets: Beets and Beet Greens

BEET SALAD WITH ORANGE ZEST AND GOAT CHEESE (adapted from Beet Salad from Chez Panisse Vegetables)

Serves 4 as a side

Ingredients

6 small beets (scrubbed, tails cut off, greens cut off, about 1/2 inch stem left on beet)

3 splashes sherry vinegar

Zest of 1 orange

2 oz goat cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Recipe

Preheat oven to 375. Place beets in center of a large, long piece of aluminum foil. Fold the edges over the beets and crimp them, creating a foil pocket. Open a small corner of the pocked and dump in a 1/2 tablespoon water for every two beets. Place beets-in-foil on a baking sheet. Bake beets in oven for 40-50 minutes, until fork tender. Allow beets to cool.

Peel with vegetable peeler when cool. Cut beets into quarters or eights, depending on size of the beets. Pop them in the fridge or freeze to get slightly cold, if you like. Add zest, goat cheese, sherry vinegar, and salt & pepper to beets. Toss beet salad. Enjoy.

3 Responses to “Beet Salad with Orange Zest and Goat Cheese”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    EB,

    Your Grandmother Rose and I loved/love beets too! I’m mak’en this recipe for tonight’s dinner. Thank’s. xo

  2. auntie Says:

    hi elizabeth,,if you are the president of the BEET LOVE CLUB,,then i am the vice-president!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  3. […] few weeks ago, Will and me and our friends meant to hike a 14er, but weather delayed our athletic plans and pushed us into the loving arms of a delicious 4 hour happy hour. But a last week, Will and me […]


Leave a Reply

