Roasted Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Tart

August 20, 2010

We got these yellow cherry tomatoes in our CSA last week.

Pretty cute, huh? They were so sweet, and deserved nothing less than a spectacular presentation. I figured there must be some way to take my very favorite savory tart dough, which I use (probably overuse, actually) for my weekly quiches. I found lots of recipes for simple cherry tomato tarts on pate brisee, but I thought any cherry tomato tart would be greatly improved by a great big gob (please click on the word gob) of goat cheese.

Which it was. NOMS. Making this tart also afforded me the opportunity to express my anal retentive artistic tendencies by arranging the tomatoes in a visually appealing but not obviously intentional pattern.

Well, this was just great. I mean, really great. My only regret is that I did not parbake (to pop it in the oven for just a couple minutes without any filling, then take it out of the oven, place the fillings in, and continue with baking) the crust. It was just a tad bit soggy and I think parkbaking for just 3 or 5 minutes would have crisped things up nicely.

I guess regret is a pretty mild term, in this case. How can you regret this, really?

More on cherry tomatoes: Sweet Balsamic Cherry Tomatoes

ROASTED CHERRY TOMATO AND GOAT CHEESE TART (adapted from Food & Wine’s Cherry Tomato Tart with Basil)

Serves 4-6 as a side or appetizer

Added note: I’ve made this many times now, and parkbaking for just 3-5 minutes before cooking crisps things up nicely. Also, I wanted to note that the goat cheese also prevents the crust from getting soggy. It forms a layer between the tomatoes and the crust that the juice released from baking can’t penetrate.

OLIVE OIL DOUGH  (adapted from Swiss Chard Pie from Everyday Food)

1.25 cups flour (I like to use half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour)

1/4 cup cold water

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

TART

6 oz goat cheese

2 pints cherry tomatoes

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Coarse ground salt & pepper

1/4 cup chopped basil

Recipe

First, take the goat cheese out of the refrigerator and leave it on the counter for an hour or two to get soft and pliable. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Next, make the olive oil dough. Stir all olive oil dough ingredients with a fork to combine, then turn out onto a work surface and knead one minute. Cover dough with plastic wrap and let rest at room temperature, 30 minutes.

While the dough rests, toss the cherry tomatoes with EVOO and coarse ground salt and pepper.

Julienne the basil and set aside, for now.

Grease a 9-inch tart pan with removable bottom or 9-inch pie dish with butter. Roll out the dough and place into tart pan. Crumble goat cheese evenly over dough surface. Arrange tomatoes in tart. Bake in oven 25-40 minutes until crust is brown and tomatoes are blistered. After baking, sprinkle with basil. Enjoy.

7 Responses to “Roasted Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Tart”

  1. Anita Says:

    This looks awesome! I have to try it!

  2. Julia Says:

    Oh.
    M.G.

    This looks so simple and delicious! Can’t wait to try it…fingers crossed for a few more weeks of tomatoes at the farmers market!


  3. Julia, I thought of you the whole time I made this! I don’t know why but I just knew it would be up your alley.

  4. Beth Tuckey Says:

    First, this looks DELICIOUS and I will certainly try it before the tomato season is over! Second, you had me laughing out loud at your Gob reference. Seriously, Tim had to come in here to see what I was laughing about. Hilarious.

    Sounds like you’re doing well! Hope the wedding planning is going as well as your cooking. 🙂


  5. […] is a great pizza. But truthfully, I don’t love this pizza as much as I love my Roasted Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Tart. Which, I should mention, is my most popular post to date by a landslide. It is not hard to see […]


  6. […] Roasted Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Tart […]


Leave a Reply

