Artichoke and Green Olive Tapenade

September 2, 2010

I finally have a food processor. It is so awesome, I can hardly handle it. Actually, I really mean that I could hardly handle it. Because I was pureeing soup in it, and it wasn’t fastened tight enough together, and I spilled hot zucchini puree all over my countertop and my self. But now I CAN handle it and it has changed my life for the better.

I have little else to say except that this tapenade is amazing and I can’t wait to make it again. Though it technically lasts for a week in the fridge, we demolished it in less than 48 hours. Yes, it’s that good.

Also, I made those crackers you see using leftover Olive Oil Dough. Just roll out the leftovers thin as possible, and bake at 425 for 10-15 minutes until golden brown. They are deeeelicious. Too hard to eat just one. (Sorry, I promise I’ll stop talking about that darn dough someday).

ARTICHOKE AND GREEN OLIVE TAPENADE (from David Lebovitz, who adapted this from Deb at Smitten Kitchen and Mario Batali )

A note: I didn’t find this needed any salt, even though I am a salt freak.

Another note: I pit my olives (and cherries, for that matter) using a paperclip

Serves 8-10 as an appetizer

2 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
1 cup pitted and rinsed green olives
1 tablespoon capers
8-10 (14 ounces) canned artichokes, drained well and quartered
1 tablespoon freshly-squeezed lemon juice
6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/8 teaspoon chile powder
salt, to taste

1. In the bowl of a food processor, pulse the garlic, olives, capers, artichoke hearts, lemon juice, and olive oil, and until almost smooth, but still chunky.

2. Taste, and add salt, chile powder, and additional lemon juice, if desired.

Serve with toasted slices of baguette or crackers.

Storage: Lasts for one week in the fridge

7 Responses to “Artichoke and Green Olive Tapenade”

  1. Shelly Says:

    Elizabeth! I am going to make this (even the crackers, if they’re as easy as you say), and then I’m going to demolish it, too! I love your blog, and I’m glad it looks like you’re having fun out in the westerly part of the country.


    • Hey Shelly, thanks for the comment! I am pretty excited about you being in the Bach choir, congrats congrats! Miss you.

      • Shelly Says:

        Thank you! Though, it can’t top the fabulously magnificent 2005-2006 CS choir, which was obviously the best. I miss you too. Hope that Colorado continues to treat you well!!

  2. Sara Says:

    Made the green olive tapenade today (snack for the U.S. Open), and it was a hit! Loved the tip about using a paper clip to pit the olives. I never would have thought of it! Looking forward to your next recipe!

  3. katecooks Says:

    ah! aren’t food processors the absolute best? i need to use mine more often…twice daily would be ideal 🙂


Leave a Reply

