Apple Crumble

September 20, 2010

A few days ago, two of my friends and I were discussing our favorite desserts. I had a slight epiphany when I realized mine was a cobbler or crumble. What a great favorite dessert! It’s so easy to make. Hooray for me.

And Saturday, we had a day that was misty and cold that actually felt like a blessing after all these hot and sunny days we’ve been having. I left football tailgating early to do what I have wanted to do ever since the beginning of summer: spend an afternoon making food that reminds me of Fall. No more salad. No more cold soup. Only things requiring cinnamon, oatmeal, brown sugar, or any combination of the three. This is my first apple crisp of the year.

I decreased the flour in this recipe from 1 cup to 1/2 cup, because I like my crumbles to be mostly crispy oatmeal, rather than mostly cake. But if you prefer a more cake-y crumble, keep the flour at the original recipe’s 1 cup.

Happy Autumn, everyone!

APPLE CRUMBLE (adapted from Bon Appetit’s Apple Crumble, October 2003)

Serves 8-10

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 cups (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 4 pounds large Granny Smith apples, peeled, halved, cored, each half cut into 6 slices
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • Vanilla ice cream

Recipe

Mix oats, 1 cup sugar, and flour in bowl. Add butter; rub in with fingertips until topping comes together in moist clumps. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover; chill.)

Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray 13x9x2-inch glass baking dish with nonstick spray. Mix apples, lemon juice, cinnamon, and 1/2 cup brown sugar in bowl. Transfer to dish. Sprinkle topping over.

Bake crumble until apples are tender and topping is brown and crisp, about 55 minutes. Cool slightly. Spoon warm crumble into bowls. Serve with ice cream.

3 Responses to “Apple Crumble”

  1. Evan Says:

    I am a fan of this blog, even though it makes me hungry.

  2. Beth Tuckey Says:

    I also love crumbles and cobblers!!

    Strawberry rhubarb and blueberry are my favorite ones to make, though I just got a LOAD of honey crisp apples at the farmers market so I might just test the apple crumble idea. 🙂


  3. […] case you haven’t noticed by now, I LOVE autumn. It is, by far, my favorite season. The apple crisp was my first Fall celebration, and this Pumpkin-Ginger Butter is my second. I misread the […]


Leave a Reply

