Pumpkin-Ginger Butter

September 25, 2010

In case you haven’t noticed by now, I love autumn. It is, by far, my favorite season. The apple crisp was my first Fall celebration, and this Pumpkin-Ginger Butter is my second. I misread the ingredient list, confusing fresh ginger with ground ginger. I looked up the substitution online and, as it turns out, there is no substitution. They are totally different. Well, harrumph. I first tried it without the ginger, but I wanted to add it anyway. I love the unapologetic spiciness of fresh ginger. So I tossed it in the pot and really liked the results. Although, next time, I’d add ground ginger as well to get a more even distribution of ginger flavor.

I like this butter very much, especially after it sits for a few days. But there is a slightly bitter aftertaste. Nothing to stop me from liking it or eating it, but I would like to take it away. Any thoughts? Do you think its the nature of the canned-pumpkin-beast?

Though this is canned, I (and the American Association of Canning, more importantly) recommend refrigerating or freezing it, as pumpkin is a food that must be pressure canned if it is to be stored at room temperature. Will and I always make fun of pressure canning. When you have a pressure canner you can make your own canned salmon or canned tuna which, in Will’s words, “Is a way of making something expensive into something cheap.” No pressure canners over here. I think I’ll just stick with freezing pumpkin for now.

The only other place ginger exists in my blog, even though I love it so muchSticky Chicken Wings

What I’m reading about Food:

PUMPKIN-GINGER BUTTER (adapted from Pumpkin Butter at allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 (29 ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup apple juice
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 cup peeled and diced fresh ginger

Recipe

  1. Combine pumpkin, apple juice, spice, ginger, lemon juice, and sugar in a large saucepan; stir well. Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for 30 minutes or until thickened. Season with extra spice or sugar to taste. Stir frequently.
  2. Transfer to sterile containers (boil jars in boiling water for 10 minutes) and chill in the refrigerator or freeze in the freezer.
3 Responses to “Pumpkin-Ginger Butter”


  1. […] I made my Pumpkin Ginger Butter, I realized how little I have been using ginger despite how much I like it. I decided rectify this […]


  2. […] The butter: Pumpkin Ginger Butter […]


  3. […] on pumpkin: Pumpkin Ginger Butter, Pumpkin Ginger […]


Leave a Reply

