Pumpkin-Ginger Muffins

October 17, 2010

I am not much of a toast person. I’ve never been much for carbs as a routine breakfast, unless I’m out and need something to dip my poached eggs into. The reason why this is odd is because I really like making fruit butter, which doesn’t have too many uses aside from being slathered on toast. Usually, I need alternative ways to use it.

So I thought I’d take a jar of my Pumpkin Ginger Butter and use it in some muffins, on a rainy October day. I am not going to be so obnoxious as to suggest you should make Pumpkin Ginger Butter solely to stir it into muffins, so I’ve included the link to the original version of this recipe as well here.

I think these muffins are quite good, but not life-changing. I’ve mentioned before that I’ve never really been a muffin person. But Will really liked them, more so than the Buttermilk Bran Muffins. So if you are looking for a good pumpkin muffin, these are what you just might need. Next time I make them, I’d like to add some crystallized ginger to the batter. If you try it, let me know how it goes!

The butter: Pumpkin Ginger Butter

More on muffins: Buttermilk Bran Muffins

What I’m reading:

PUMPKIN-GINGER MUFFINS (I adapted the adapted version from smittenkitchen. Originally from the American club, in Kohler, Wisconsin via Gourmet Magazine)

For the original recipe click here

Ingredients

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup Pumpkin Ginger Butter

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

1/4 cups plus 1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Recipe

Put oven in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Put liners in muffin cups.

Combine flour and baking powder in one bowl. In a different bowl, whisk together pumpkin, oil, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 cup sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth, then whisk in flour mixture until just combined.

Stir together cinnamon and remaining 1 tablespoon sugar in another bowl.

Divide batter among muffin cups (each should be about three-fourths full), then sprinkle tops with cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake until puffed and golden brown and wooden pick or skewer inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.

Cool in pan on a rack five minutes, then transfer muffins from pan to rack and cool to warm or room temperature.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin-Ginger Muffins”

  1. Amy Says:

    Right up my alley!!!
    I happen to be making pumpkin muffins this morning. Sadely, mine are much less sophisticated.

    A


  2. […] More on pumpkin: Pumpkin Ginger Butter, Pumpkin Ginger Muffins […]


Leave a Reply

