Roasted Maple Acorn Squash

November 11, 2010

I am taking all the credit for turning Will on to both Butternut Squash and Acorn Squash. First, I turned him on to Butternut Squash with Butternut Squash and Ginger Soup. Next, I baked him this Roasted Maple Acorn Squash. He loved it so much he asked for it two nights in a row.

This comes together quite simply and easily. Though I’ll write the recipe out formally at the end of the post, here it is: Cut squash in half. Scoop out seeds. Brush with maple syrup. Place butter pat in middle. Stick in oven. Bake about an hour. Eat with a spoon. The (Happy) End.

My parents made this for me often when I was a kid, though my palate requires less maple syrup now than it did then. I wouldn’t have even remembered this recipe were it not for my friend Caitlin (previously referenced here), who so sweetly returned from her trip home to Massachusetts with a jug of real maple syrup just for me. And some maple candy, which was eaten up very, very quickly.

Speaking of maple syrup, I can’t wait until the magical time of year when I can watch this movie. I suggested to Will that we should decorate for Christmas immediately after Halloween, but he vetoed the idea. Actually, he put a moratorium on all Christmas decorating until after Thanksgiving. Ba-humbug.

ROASTED MAPLE ACORN SQUASH

Yes, you can eat the seeds. And they’re delicious. Try the seed recipe from Butternut Squash and Ginger Soup

Serves 2 as a side

Ingredients

1 acorn squash

2 pats of butter (I use about 2 teaspoons per half but since this is for flavor, any amount is fine)

3 tablespoons maple syrup

Recipe

Preheat oven to 375. Cut squash in half. Scoop out seeds and stringy insides. Brush yellow flesh with maple syrup, 1.5 tablespoons for each half. Place a butter pat in each squash half. Bake for 50-60 mins. Squash is done when it gets a little browned and blistered at the edges.

Leave a Reply

