Soft Pumpkin Cookies

November 15, 2010

A few weeks ago, I had a very confused 88 year old patient. She spent half the day telling each staff member, “I hope you enjoy your freedom, because I’m sending you to prison!” and the other half of the day pointing to women on the TV and saying, “Look at her LEGS! Ooo la la!” Her son came to visit. He was a very nice man, probably in his late 40s, wearing an expensive suit, well groomed, and very polite. As soon as he left her bedside, she pulled me close, as if to tell me a secret. She looked me in the eyes and, with a quivering upper lip asked, “Is my son selling his body for money?” I can only hope that if I become demented, I am half as entertaining to my nurses.

In other news, Will and I are spending our holidays together for the first time. We’ll be at his parents house for Thanksgiving, and I’m trying to audition a few make-ahead dishes for the holiday. I’m aiming for dishes that can be made 24-48 hours in advance, so I’ll take up minimal kitchen space on Turkey Day.

The first thing I made was pumpkin cookies. Will and I just love them! They taste a little sweeter than pumpkin bread (but aren’t too sweet). They have a cake-y consistency, but are slightly browned and chewy at the edges. I will definitely make these for Thanksgiving.

A note on my modification. The original recipe calls for a chocolate drizzle. I liked the plain cookies so much that I decided to drizzle half with chocolate and keep the other half plain. Good thing I did. Will and I both like them better without chocolate, actually. These are a delicate cookie, and we think the chocolate overpowers the subtle spices and the mildness of the pumpkin.

Oh and, uh, the “drizzle.” Some water from my bottom pot spilled into my top pot in my makeshift double boiler. And I just mixed the excess water into the chocolate, convincing myself, “Oh, the chocolate will probably be too thick without a liquid thinner anyway!” It was less of a drizzle and more of a slop. I just spread it around the cookies. Not pretty. Keep them plain. They’re much better. And they don’t look so… you know…

Well, this recipe is definitely a winner. I’m going to audition some more Thanksgiving dishes and will definitely be blogging about them in the upcoming days!

More on pumpkin: Pumpkin Ginger Butter, Pumpkin Ginger Muffins

More on cookies: Cookies Archive

What I’m reading:

PUMPKIN COOKIES (adapted from Chocolate-Glazed Pumpkin Cookies Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food)

My adaptations were to double the amount of pumpkin pie spice and nix the chocolate drizzle. Or “drizzle” in my case.

Yields about 24 cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 can (15 ounces) pure pumpkin puree

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, pumpkin-pie spice, and salt; set aside.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg; beat until smooth. With mixer on low speed, alternately add flour mixture in two parts and pumpkin puree in one, beginning and ending with flour mixture; mix just until combined (do not overmix).
  3. Drop dough by heaping tablespoons onto two baking sheets, about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake until puffed and edges are golden, 15 to 20 minutes, rotating sheets once during baking. Immediately transfer cookies to wire racks, and cool completely.
  4. When cookies have cooled, set them (still on rack) over a baking sheet or waxed paper. Cool and enjoy!

5 Responses to “Soft Pumpkin Cookies”

  1. angela Says:

    yum! justin and i like these with chocolate chips… never tried a chocolate drizzle before!

  2. Noel Bigham Says:

    Going to have to make these! They sound delicious!

  3. Noel Bigham Says:

    Hey! The cookies were great! Everybody liked them. I think the next time I make them I might add chocolate chips just to make the “cookie” part clear. (I don’t trust myself with chocolate drizzle.) Also, Noah loved them! He ate almost a whole one! I’m thinking I’ll make a special batch for him with whole wheat flour. I’ll let you know if that turns out well. Thanks for the recipe.

  4. Noel Bigham Says:

    Haha! The ones for Noah I’ll make without chocolate chips. I just re-read my comment and it sounds like I’m going to feed my 9 month old chocolate!

  5. Lily Says:

    Ohhhh man those pumpkin cookies were delicious. I am happy to say that I have now tastes most of the dishes on the November page. Yummmmmmm.


Leave a Reply

