Amy’s Spinach Casserole

November 18, 2010

I think everyone has one particular dish that embodies their idea of the holidays. My favorite holiday dish is my cousin Amy’s Spinach Casserole. Thanksgiving food is very favorite my kind of food. I even put leftover cranberry sauce on vanilla ice cream! But I love Amy’s Spinach Casserole so much that I’d rather eat extras of it and pass on second helpings of stuffing or turkey or mashed potatoes. She says that this Thanksgiving marks the 20th year she’s made it for the holidays. This is my cousin, Amy, and 2/3 of her kids, Ava and Zack.


And here’s the other 1/3, Nicole. We get along REALLY well.

Okay, here’s another picture so you know she’s cute in addition to being quirky.

Let me tell you a story about Nicole. Nicole and her mom, Amy, stopped for a donut at a Dunkin’ Donuts drive thru. Amy passed the donut to Nicole, which Nicole unwrapped. She looked up at Amy before she took a bite, and said “Bone Happy Teeth, Mom.” Amy asked her to repeat herself a few times. Nicole finally clarified. “You know, bone happy teeth. It’s what you say before you eat.” She meant Bon Appetit.

Back to the casserole. It’s like Lipton Onion Soup Mix Spinach Dip plus stuffing. Probably because it’s made with Lipton Onion Soup Mix and premade stuffing mix.

I know what you might be thinking. “Elizabeth, don’t you usually make everything from scratch?” Yes, I do. Almost always. But I am completely unapologetic about the ingredient list here. Amy’s Spinach Casserole brings me more joy than you can even imagine. Every bite reminds me of home, my family, and the holidays. This, for me, is the holidays in casserole form.

Bone Happy Teeth!

Other Family Recipes of Mine (I have posted shockingly few of these, and the ones I’ve posted are only sort-of family recipes. What’s the deal with that?): My Grandma Rose’s Pasta Sauce, Killing and Preparing a Lobster for the Grill (I guess it’s a family recipe because my dad taught me how to do it), Oatmeal Raisin Coconut Cookies (well, it’s a Quaker Oats recipe but I made them a lot with my mom as a kid)

What I’m Reading:

AMY’S SPINACH CASSEROLE

Ingredients

30 oz frozen, chopped spinach

1/2 stick butter

2.5 cups crushed, seasoned stuffing mix

Cooking spray

16 oz sour cream

1 package Lipton Onion Soup Mix

Recipe

Defrost spinach and drain well. Preheat oven to 350.

Melt butter on the stove top or in a microwave. Pour melted butter over stuffing mix and toss. Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. Spread 1/2 of the buttered stuffing mix across the bottom of the pan.

Mix onion soup mix with sour cream, then add in spinach. Mix well. Spread spinach mixture evenly over stuffing mix in pan.

Sprinkle remaining stuffing mix over top of spinach mixture. Bake 30-40 mins, until stuffing mix on top turns golden brown.

3 Responses to “Amy’s Spinach Casserole”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    EB, Your post brings back so many memories of great Thanksgiving dinners together. Here’s to many more to come! Mom xo

  2. Amy Says:

    YOU bring me great joy my dear cousin. I am honored to be featured on your blog. Food means so much more than just the eating experience…and our family loves food! Happy Thanksgiving~we will be together in “Spinch” and spirt.

    xoxo

    A

  3. katecooks Says:

    there are some recipes you just cant alter, even if it’s totally different from what you normally make! i am all about the traditional family dishes at the holidays, even if i only eat them once a year 🙂


Leave a Reply

