Swiss Chard with Golden Raisins

December 5, 2010

I am a list-maker. My brain does not function unless I have paper and pen in my hand. It helps me keep track of everything I need to do at work, and before I leave for the day I go over my list, making sure I’ve checked off each task that needs to be completed.

I had a really crazy day this past week and could not wait to sprint out of the hospital and into my car. But as usual, I checked my list right before I left. And found, taped to the front of my work binder, a post it that said… “Be sure to”

That’s it. Post it fail.

On to the chard. My Thanksgiving recovery tends to include a lot of green and leafy vegetables. My favorite of this bunch is swiss chard. It’s very similar to spinach, but it contains a tough center rib. It can also grow to be enormous.

And is full of hipster angst.

This preparation uses garlic, red pepper flakes, and golden raisins. I am thinking of making it as a Christmas side dish, since it comes together quickly and does not take up any valuable oven space.

The second time I made this recipe, I found a golf ball sized lump of pizza dough in my freezer. I rolled the dough out thin as possible, sprinkled on some parmesan cheese and cracked black pepper, and baked it until it was light brown on top. Then I topped it off with the sauteed chard mixture. It was delicious!

SAUTEED SWISS CHARD WITH RAISINS (made up by me, inspired by my turkey hangover)

Ingredients

1/3 cup golden raisins

One bunch swiss chard (I used red chard but rainbow or green would work as well)

Salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

4 cloves garlic, sliced

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Black pepper

Recipe

Place raisins in a bowl. Pour about one cup boiling water over raisins. Allow them to soak and plump about 10-15 minutes while you prepare the rest of the dish.

Bring 3 cups salted water to a boil.

Wash chard leaves. Separate leaves from center rib. Chop rib into pieces (about one inch long). Blanch rib pieces in boiling water until tender (about 1-2 minutes). Remove and place in cold water, to stop them from cooking any longer. Set aside.

Place a large saucepan on medium heat. Heat olive oil in pan, then add garlic. Saute until garlic is lightly brown. Add red pepper flakes, then chard. Turn the chard in the saucepan a few times with tongs, then cover with a lid and allow to steam until leaves are slightly wilted, about 3-5 minutes. Remove lid, give the chard a quick stir, and put chard on a place.

Sprinkle chard leaves with chard ribs and golden raisins. Squeeze lemon juice over the mixture and give it a toss. Add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

