Chocolate Covered Peppermint Cookie Balls

December 7, 2010

Thanksgiving blogging turned into a “Oh crap let me make like 3 Thanksgiving recipes in 2 days so my followers have something relevant to read,” so I thought I’d jump on Christmas sides and cookies a few weeks early. Of course I started with cookies. And the Christmas station on Pandora that I cannot recommend highly enough.

These are delicious! Part cookie, part candy. I altered the recipe by mixing crushed candy canes in with the chocolate batter. It was a very good alteration.

Some very exciting news is that I purchased a one-tablespoon scoop. I know that this is probably exciting to you, but for anal-retentive persons (who? where?) who find themselves frustrated creating irregularly-shaped cookie balls by hand, it is exciting. Observe my perfectly shaped cookie balls.

Now observe some of them whose guts leaked out during baking.

I also considered this recipe an opportunity to use up stray bits of chocolate from my pantry. Though the chocolate coating was mostly all semi-sweet, it had a little dark and a little milk thrown in there too.

But I guess in the end that evens it all out to be semi-sweet?

I don’t know but it sure tasted good.

And, of course, no ball recipe would be complete without a reference to Pete Schweddy. Click here for The Delicious Dish Enjoy. “I like to leave Santa a big glass of tap water, and rice. If Santa’s anything like me, Christmas foods really wreck havoc on the old digestive system.”

Bone Happy Teeth!

Hungry for more cookies? Check out my cookie archive.

CHOCOLATE COVERED PEPPERMINT COOKIE BALLS (adapted from Martha Stewart Living, December 2010)

The cookie “base” of this recipe (everything minus the candy canes and chocolate chips) is a base that may be used for many other chocolate cookie treats. For more ideas, check out the December 2010 issue of Martha Stewart Living.

Ingredients

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetend Dutch-process cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

1 large egg, at room temperature

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup PLUS 1/3 cup crushed peppermints

12 ounces chocolate (preferably semi-sweet)

Recipe

Preheat oven to 350.

Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, and salt in a large bowl. Beat butter and sugar with a mixer on medium-high speed until pale and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture and beat until combined. Fold in 1/2 cup crushed candy canes.

Roll cookies or use cookie scoop into one tablespoon balls. Place about 1 inch apart on parchment-lined cookie sheet. Refrigerate 30 mins, then bake until firm, about 14-16 minutes. Let cool.

While cookies cool, melt chocolate in a double boiler. Dip cooled cookies into melted chocolate and sprinkle with remaining 1/3 cup crushed candy canes. Refrigerate at least 30 minutes, then enjoy.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Peppermint Cookie Balls”

  1. Leah Says:

    My fam and I are making these later this week.


  2. This looks DELICIOUS!


Leave a Reply

