Sriracha Glazed Chicken Wings

December 31, 2010

I made this for dinner hours after I first read the recipe. Will and I love Sriracha. We put it on just about everything you can think of (eggs, sandwiches, broccoli…) And this is a winner. The chicken is sticky, caramelized, and spicy. It would make a fabulous Superbowl snack.

I’m about to work my 4th day in a row and my brain is tired, so I don’t have too much to say this post. Except, that when you are admitted to the hospital with abdominal pain and a Crohn’s disease exacerbation, I would not recommend trying to sneak Hardee’s into your room, past your nurse. Yes, Patient X, I’m talking to you.

SRIRACHA GLAZED WINGS (adapted from Everyday Food, January 2011)

Serves 2 as a main course

I adapted this by adding an extra 1/2 tablespoon Sriracha. If you like things really spicy, try it my way. If you prefer a little less spice, use 1 tablespoon Sriracha as in the original recipe

Ingredients

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 tablespoons plus one teaspoon white vinegar

1.5 tablespoon Sriracha

1 tablespoon sugar

1.5 teaspoons grated and peeled fresh ginger

1.5 teaspoons sesame oil

1.5 lbs chicken wings, cut in half at joint, wing tips removed

Recipe

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a glass baking dish, wisk together soy sauce, white vinegar, Sriracha, sugar, ginger, and sesame oil. Add chicken wings, tossing to coat with the marinade. Marinate 30-45 minutes, flipping wings to the other side halfway through. Bake until chicken is cooked through and sauce thickens, 30 minutes, flipping chicken halfway through.

Leave a Reply

