Peanut Butter Cup Tart

January 31, 2011

First thing’s first. I am borderline on whether I should blog on this Peanut Butter Cup Tart or not. Don’t get me wrong, it’s deliciousness is definitely not the problem. The problem is that the copyright on the book this recipe is from prohibits me from reproducing this recipe electronically. So I have to wonder if there is a point to blogging about something I can’t share with you all (at least over the internet. I’m happy to share a slice in person). It seems an awful lot like shameless bragging to me. However, I would like to use my blog to publicize the wonderful cookbook and chef this recipe came from. So I’m a little stuck, here, and I’d really appreciate feedback. Do you want me to blog about things I have made if I can’t share the recipe? Please comment on this post.

I don’t understand people who don’t have a sweet tooth. I have a MASSIVE sweet tooth. In particular, I have a chocolate tooth in the winter.

Spring, Summer, and Fall are perfect for crisps and pies. If the bounty of fresh fruit we get at my farmer’s market doesn’t make its way unadultered into my mouth, it practically stumbles into a baking dish and lathers itself in butter, oatmeal, and flour all on its own.

But winter… winter is time for chocolate. Winter is cold, and winter makes me want to spend my days indoors, baking. Winter is time not just for chocolate desserts, but for CHOCOLATE desserts. This Peanut Butter Cup Tart is a CHOCOLATE dessert.

The crust is a soft chocolate cookie. The middle is a mixture of peanut butter and white chocolate. The top is a rich, chocolate ganache. And the whole thing is topped off with a flurry of salt. Now that’s what I call dessert.

And this picture is what I call putting the foil too close to the top of the pie, so it makes an imprint on my otherwise perfect ganache. Gah, life is so hard.

There is only one possible accompaniment to a dessert like this.

Not only do I chill wine glasses, I chill MILK glasses. That is how very serious I am about chocolate desserts.

I LOVE YOU PEANUT BUTTER CUP TART.

The book is Food & Wine’s Best of the Best: the best recipes from the 25 best cookbooks of the year chosen by the editors of Food & Wine Magazine (2004-2005). This recipe from from Pure Chocolate by Fran Bigelow.

11 Responses to “Peanut Butter Cup Tart”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    Hi EB,

    I would encourage you to continue blogging about your recipes and other’s that you find delicious. It seems you have an ability to find food that is worthy of eating! Please continue.

    Love,

    Mom

  2. angela Says:

    hmm, i see lots of blogs that use recipes from books, they just give credit to the book. is that not allowed? looks delicious though!


    • angela, good question. normally books are fine except the copyright on this particular one is extremely specific that any publishing of the recipe on the internet is not allowed.

      • angela Says:

        aw man! it’s like they don’t WANT to change the world with chocolate and peanut butter. humph!

  3. Julia Says:

    Can you reproduce it in an email to me?! This looks ah-may-zing.

    Keep it up! Your writing and pictures are worth it, recipe or no.

  4. Amy Says:

    OMG!
    That looks amazing. The dusting of salt intrigues me too. Heck, I would have loved to just lick the bowls! We share that sweet tooth my dear cousih… and the love for chocolate comes from Grandma Rose.

    A

  5. Paige Says:

    That looks soo good. Can I have a piece??

  6. Naomi Says:

    I used to have the Pure Chocolate book, it was the BEST (but misplaced it while packing for school, and now I can’t find it in bookstores 😦 ) Could you please email me the recipe? My fiance loves peanut butter and chocolate and would love to surprise him for his birthday. My email is naleighbradley@gmail.com
    Fran Bigelow’s Gold Bar Brownies recipe is also amazing. You should try it. I would be glad to share it! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

