My Favorite Guacamole and Easy Homemade Tortilla Chips

February 2, 2011

I bet you’re wondering what to make for the Superbowl this weekend. Meet my favorite guacamole. It’s got 5/5 stars on The Food Network website for a reason. It’s spicy, salty, and nearly impossible to stop eating. I even dipped vegetables into it when the tortilla chips ran out!

But I don’t need to worry about running out of tortilla chips anymore, because my friend, Angela, taught me how easy it is to make my own at home. You simply cut the tortilla into triangles, place them on a cookie sheet, spray them with butter flavored cooking spray, sprinkle on some salt, and bake. And tortillas freeze well, so you can make small batches of chips on demand. So if I want a handful tortilla chips with lunch, they’re only 15 minutes away.

Well, I hope you enjoy this recipe from The Food Network. Which, although I use it often, is at times the lamest website. For instance, they posted a recipe for Dark Chocolate As A Snack. There is actually a group of people who find these lame recipes and comment on them enough to make them “popular” on the Food Network Website. Please check out their most famous handiwork, at Late Night Bacon.

MY FAVORITE GUACAMOLE AND TORTILLA CHIPS (Guac from Alton Brown, Tortilla Chips from my friend Angela)

Guacamole Ingredients

  • 3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded and peeled
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 2 tomatoes (preferably Roma) seeded and diced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Guacamole Recipe

Toss the avocado pulp and lime juice in a large bowl. Mush salt, cumin, and cayenne into the avocodo/lime mixture.. Gently fold in the onions, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Serve at room temperature.

Tortilla Chip Ingredients

Corn tortillas (fresh or defrosted enough to cut)

Butter flavored cooking spray

Salt

Tortilla Chip Recipe

Preheat oven to 400. Cut tortillas into pie-shaped wedges (I like 4-6 per tortilla). Spread tortilla triangles on a cookie sheet. Spray with cooking spray. Sprinkle with salt. Bake until chips are lightly browned at edges (the time varies widely depending on the brand, but it usually takes me 7-10 minutes if fresh, 12-17 minutes if frozen).

2 Responses to “My Favorite Guacamole and Easy Homemade Tortilla Chips”

  1. Megan Harvey Says:

    heyyy old kenyon buddy! i’ll admit, i’ve been blog-stalking you for the better part of the afternoon… and i’m so glad for it. i’m going to make a ton of your recipes in the coming weeks! omgsogood. i just had to say that 1. will’s adobo jokes made me crack up. 2. late night bacon recipe?? WTF? and 3. CONGRATS ON YOUR WEDDING! (i hope you end up seeing this, and i hope you don’t think i’m terrible for my weird “i’m gonna congratulate you in an old blog post instead of on facebook for no good reason…” anyway, so good to see how happy your life is since kenyon! i hope we can see each other at a reunion sometime in the next few! xo, megan harvey


    • Hey long lost friend! I am so happy you’ve been blog-stalking me (that is every bloggers goal, after all) and even happier that you got in touch with me! Thanks for your sweet words. How is grad school and Florida? I miss singing with you. Let me know how you’re doing when you get a chance!


Leave a Reply

