Alice Waters’ Grapefruit and Avocado Salad

February 24, 2011

Yes, grapefruit and avocados. Unlikely lovers. I too was skeptical, until I saw that it was Alice Waters who paired them together in this recipe. Another genius move. I am impressed without being surprised.

Just for kicks, I perused the avocado section  The Flavor Bible at my local cooking supply store a few hours before I made this which confirmed that grapefruit and avocado are very much complimentary flavors. It is true that sometimes when I am bored, I venture to the cooking store store to peruse cookbooks. It’s a good life.

The creaminess of the avocado cuts the sourness of the grapefruit. Even Will, who doesn’t like grapefruit, enjoyed a few bites of this salad. I highly recommend it as a pairing with fish.

ALICE WATERS’ GRAPEFRUIT AND AVOCADO SALAD (adapted in the vaguest way from Alice Waters’ Grapefruit and Avocado Salad)

My only adaptations were to substitute sherry vinegar for white wine vinegar, and to leave out the chervil which all supermarkets within walking distance from my apaartment did not supply.

Serves 2

1 medium ruby grapefruit
1/2 teaspoon sherry vinegar
Salt & Pepper
Freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 medium Hass avocados, cut in half and pits removed

1. Use a sharp knife to peel your grapefruit. Remove rind and pith. Separate into sections and remove the membrane. (I couldn’t keep a single grapefruit slice in tact. Don’t worry if you can’t either, we can still make it look pretty at the end). Squeeze the juice from the membranes into a little bowl. Measure 2 tablespoons of the juice into a small bowl.

2. Add vinegar, salt, and pepper to the bowl with grapefruit juice. Beat in oil with a whisk.

3. Peel avocados and cut into slices. Sprinkle lightly with salt. If you had the knife skills of Alice Waters and managed to keep your de-membraned grapefruit slices in tact, arrange your grapefruit and avocado on a plate in alterating slices. If your knife skills were similar to mine, put your grapefruit gobs on the bottom of the plate, and arrange your avocado slices in a flower patten on top. Drizzle with dressing and enjoy.

5 Responses to “Alice Waters’ Grapefruit and Avocado Salad”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I want to put my face in this.

  2. Patti Howe Says:

    My initial thought was grapefruit and avocado? But after contemplating the tanginess of the grapefruit and the creaminess of the avocado, I thought; PERFECT! xo thank’s EB

  3. Amy Says:

    The pinwheel presentation is a beautiful pic. Reminds me of an unusual salad I made last summer, I think it was watermelon, feta, mint and red onion??? or close to that. I like unusual food parings. It’s always a pleasant surprise when they work.

    xoxo

    A

  4. Sarah Says:

    I am eating this right now (an even further departure from sherry vinegar, red wine vinegar, in my case). As I was preparing it I was thinking, “I am putting avocado…on grapefruit…on purpose.” But it is NOM.


Leave a Reply

