Sunny-Side-Up Eggs on Mustard-Creamed Spinach with Crispy Crumbs

March 5, 2011

I have got a serious case of spring fever.

The past week has been gorgeous (50-60 degrees and sunny) and the last thing I’ve wanted to do is stay inside and cook. There hasn’t been anything too crazy going on in this kitchen of mine. I’ve been going for long walks or runs with friends, eating lunch outside, and sporting a v-neck shaped sunburn on my chest. A few months of winter and already I forgot the importance of suntan lotion. Sheesh.

Most things I’ve cooked this week have been quick and easy, and this dish is no exception. It caught my eye in last month’s Bon Appetite. It’s no secret that I love to take green vegetables for a dip in egg yolk.

This meal was alright. I hope I don’t offend anyone by saying that it reminded me a bit too much of pub food. It was kinda mushy, and a little on the bland side. If you’ve got any ideas for pepping it up, let me know!

An easier, healthier, and (I think) tastier way to enjoy eggs and greens: Roasted Asparagus with an Over-Easy Egg (or Two)

SUNNY-SIDE-UP-EGGS ON MUSTARD-CREAMED SPINACH WITH CRISPY CRUMBS (adapted from Bon Appetit, February 2011)

If you want to make breadcrumbs quick, preheat your oven to 350 and bake a slice or two of bread in there for 10-20 minutes.

I adapted this recipe in three ways: 1) I cooked the eggs in butter rather than olive oil because I think it tastes better. 2) The original recipe called for crustless breadcrumbs, but I figured I’d throw the crusts in there too. I can’t imagine that had major bearing on the end product. 3) I used heavy cream instead of half and half, because I can’t imagine using half and half for anything else before it expires. Waste not, want not.

Serves 2

Ingredients

1/2 cup coarse fresh breadcrumbs made from country-style bread

5 teaspoons Dijon mustard, divided

2 teaspoons olive oil

2 teaspoons butter

1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds

1 9-ounce package fresh spinach leaves (most bundled large-leaf spinach weighs 9 oz)

3 tablespoons heavy cream

1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme

Salt and pepper

2 large eggs

Fresh thyme sprigs (for garnish)

Recipe

Preheat oven to 400. Put breadcrumbs, 2 teaspoons mustard, oil, and mustard seeds in a bowl and toss to coat. Place breadcrumb mixture on a baking sheet and bake until they become crisp and golden.

While your crumbs bake, add a few tablespoons water to a large skillet. Add spinach. Place over high heat and toss until spinach wilts (a couple of minutes). Put wilted spinach and liquid in a sieve placed on top of a bowl and press out liquid. Set aside.

Heat a medium saucepan over medium high heat. Add wilted spinach, 3 teaspoons mustard, cream, and chopped thyme. Stir over medium heat until ingredients combine and sauce thickens a bit (a few minutes). Remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper.

Take out a medium skillet and heat over medium heat. Once hot, add your butter. Add the eggs and cover immediately with a lid. Turn heat up to medium high. They should be done within 2-4 minutes. Just keep checking on them periodically. I like them when they are a little bit white on top (about 3 1/2 minutes)

Divide spinach between two bowls. Place one egg on top of each pile of spinach, and place thyme sprigs and a little extra pepper on top. Serve with crusty bread, if you like.

Leave a Reply

