Egg and Asparagus Pizza

March 23, 2011


I am dying to tell you all about our long weekend in Las Vegas, but I am waiting for my friends Nelie and Sarah to send me some of the ridiculous pictures they took. Look out for my stories/embarrassing photos later in the week. Here’s something to tide you over until then.

Last post, I mentioned I am training for a half marathon with my friend Reed, and craving a lot of carbohydrates after our long runs. Behold, my most favorite of all carbohydrates: EGG AND ASPARAGUS PIZZA.

Crispy crust. Tender asparagus. Gooey mozzerella. Rich egg yolk. NOM.

Cooking an egg on a pizza is tricky. Sometimes, it’s cooked once the pizza is doughy. Othertimes, it’s raw when the pizza is browned. It’s a very difficult balance. When I’m making this pizza for just Will and me, I try to cook the egg directly on the pizza, if only to eventually master this skill. I make sure I have a little nest of asparagus to keep it in place, so it won’t run over the sides. I plop it on right as a few pieces of cheese start to get brown (when the pizza has cooked about 6 minutes). I let it cook until it just forms a very thin skin on top, like so.

If I am making this pizza for company, I simply cook an over easy egg in a pan and plop it on top of the cooked pizza. I have not had enough consistency in my results to say that my 6-minutes into cooking method is correct. Either way, it will be delicious.

Other great ways to enjoy a runny egg here.

EGG AND ASPARAGUS PIZZA (by me)

Serves 4

If you use really thin asparagus, you can skip the step where you saute the asparagus. Just cut it into thirds and place it directly on the pizza.

Ingredients

1 lb pizza dough (store bought or use this recipe doubled)

Olive oil

Cornmeal

1 bunch asparagus, ends trimmed

1 teaspoon butter

Salt & Pepper

16-24 oz fresh mozzarella (depending on how cheesy you like your pizza)

Ice

4 eggs

Recipe

If your dough is refrigerated, take dough out of the fridge 1-2 hours before you want to start cooking and let it get to room temperature (it’s much easier to work with and to thin out this way).

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Place rack on bottom rung of oven. This is where you will cook the pizza.

Oil a baking sheet and sprinkle cornmeal generously over it. Work your pizza dough into rectangles or rounds that are as a thin as you can get them.

Cut asparagus into thirds. Place a frying pan over medium heat. Once hot, add the butter and then add asparagus. Season with salt and pepper, and saute until they just start to get tender (about 5 minutes). Arrange asparagus on pizza, keeping in mind that you will want to make a little asparagus boarder in the middle of each pizza to fence in the egg. (if you don’t do this, the egg may run all over).

Pat mozzarella slices dry with a paper towel, sprinkle with salt, tear into pieces and arrange over the pizza. Season with pepper and place in the oven.

Toss an ice cube or two into the oven every few minutes. The added humidity will help the crust crisp up.

Crack eggs into a bowl and have them ready.

If you are cooking the egg directly atop the pizza, take pizzas out of oven when the cheese and crust just start to brown (about 5 minutes). Gently put eggs on top. Watch the pizzas very closely now, checking on them every 2 or 3 minutes. The pizza is done when the eggs have a very thin, white skin over their top (in my oven, this takes about 4 or 5 more minutes).

If you are cooking the eggs over-easy and then adding them to the top, finish cooking the pizza. It’s done when its nicely browned and crispy (about 10-12 minutes). Take out a medium skillet and heat over medium heat. Once hot, add your butter. Add the eggs and cover immediately with a lid. Turn heat up to medium high. They should be done within 2-4 minutes. Just keep checking on them periodically. I like them when they are a little bit white on top (about 3 1/2 minutes). Add eggs to top of pizza. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

