Chocolate Banana Ice Cream (No Ice Cream Maker Necessary)

April 8, 2011

Did you wake up this morning and say, Gee, ice cream is great but I really wish it could make me drunk. Well today must be your lucky day!

I love love love ice cream, and got very excited to find that I could make my very own ice cream at home despite not having a machine. How does this work? you ask? Simple. ALCOHOL. Which does not freeze. (I forgot who of my friends told me their mom makes “wine slushies” by putting wine in the freezer and then eating it with a spoon. Please identify yourself, source, so I can give you credit for the story I can’t stop telling people).

I don’t remember the last time I screwed up a recipe as epically as I screwed up this one. I misread the recipe in a serious way. I thought the recipe contained 1 cup and 2 tablespoons rum AND 1 cup and 2 tablespoons Bailey’s. That’s almost 15 shots for a recipe that serves 6. It turns out the original recipe contains 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons Baileys and a mere 3 tablespoons rum. Oops.

I have to tell you that I didn’t like this ice cream very much. But it’s not the recipe. It’s me. I messed it up. A lot. First like this.

That’s what happens when the food processor isn’t screwed on tight enough. After this happened, I rationalized adding extra banana and milk to make up for the lost chocolate (I am too deep in this recipe to run to the store, I thought. It made sense at the time). Despite my incompetence, this actually tasted like chocolate and bananas, but all that rum really made it taste like ALCOHOL too.

This basically tasted like a chocolate-y, banana-y frozen drink. I didn’t care for it but a lot of my friends really liked it. I’m going to write the recipe the way I made it to remain true to form, but I strongly recommend that you try David Lebovitz’s original version, which I am sure is much more delicious. To make the recipe the way he intended it, substitute 3 tablespoons dark rum for the 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (zoops!) that I used.

And of course, no post on a Chocolate and Banana treat would be complete without a reference to Arrested Development.

CHOCOLATE BANANA ICE CREAM (adapted from David Lebovitz’s Ready for Dessert)

Seriously, don’t make this the way I made it unless you want to make ice cream solely for the purpose of getting faded. Use 3 tablespoons dark rum, not the 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons I used.

Serves 6

Ingredients

6 oz bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons whole or low fat milk

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons Irish cream liqueur, such as Bailey’s Irish Cream

3 very ripe medium bananas

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark rum

Recipe

Create a double boiler.* Place chocolate and milk in your small, heatproof bowl. Stir every now and then until chocolate is melted and has no lumps. Take bowl off heat.

Pour Bailey’s into a blender or food processor. Add bananas, rum, and the melted chocolate+milk and blend until smooth.

Pour this into a shallow plastic container, cover with lid, and freeze until if solidifies enough to be scooped (at least 8 hours, ideally overnight).

*Place a small, heatproof bowl over a pot of simmering water on the stove.

One Response to “Chocolate Banana Ice Cream (No Ice Cream Maker Necessary)”

  1. Sarah Says:

    How do you know what I think every morning?

    Also, my mom used to buy those buckets of frozen cosmo mix from Target, pour the booze over it, and eat it like a slushie. Also since it was summer she’d keep her “booze bucket” in the garage fridge and pull it out for neighborhood “alley parties”.


Leave a Reply

