Not Your Mama’s Onion Dip

April 10, 2011

We celebrated my birthday this weekend. We had a great time. See?

This is my friend Kristina. She made me an ice cream cake!

The crust was made of brownies. The frosting was whipped cream. The middle was made of candy (Reese’s PB cups, chocolate covered pretzels, malted milk balls). It was an epic cake. And pretty too. And loved by people big and small.

This is my friend David. He built a bar in his apartment. Where we started the night right. He makes a mean cocktail. Thanks for my cocktails, David!

This is Will with bunny ears. And these are some of his math friends. Who are now some of my best friends. Thank you Will and my math friends! And all my other friends too. It was a lovely party. And I love all of you.

And I made onion dip. Like Lipton Onion Dip. But better.

THE END.

NOT YOUR MAMA’S ONION DIP (from Alton Brown’s Onion Dip from Scratch)

This dip tastes best if you let it sit overnight in the fridge.

Ingredients

Recipe

Place a saute pan over medium heat. Add oil and get it hot, then add onions and salt. Cook onions stirring every 4 or 5 minutes (but not more often than that) until they caramelize (about 20 minutes). Take them off the heat and let them cool. Mix all remaining ingredients together in a bowl, then add the onions once they’re cool. Stick it in the fridge and give it a good stir right before you serve it.

One Response to “Not Your Mama’s Onion Dip”

  1. Patti Howe Says:

    Happy Birthday EB!


Leave a Reply

