Pickled Jalapenos

May 22, 2011

This weather is the pits. Where did the sunny part of Spring go? Every day I’ve had off has been grey, drizzle-y, and 45 degrees. Where is the sun? The heat? The chirping songbirds? But I had a brilliant idea Wednesday night. I would make my own sunshine *ding. How is that possible? you ask. MAKE TACOS AND MARGARITAS FOR DINNER.

And so I chopped vegetables and grilled shrimp (inside) while listening to the Buena Vista Social Club station on Pandora. I decided to add a few special touches to the shrimp tacos. I made a corn and tomato relish. I grilled up a link of chorizo that was sitting patiently in our freezer. And I made an at home version of my favorite taco condiment, pickled jalapenos.

Much spicier than their canned counterparts, these potent peppers will kick up anything you add them to (I’d strongly encouage you to chop them into small bits, first. I ate a whole round and had to chug milk immediately after). You even get to pickle some carrot rounds with them which make another excellent taco topping.

This recipe yields 2, pint sized jars. Which is good, because if this week’s forecast is any indication, we have a lot of taco/margarita nights in our future.

PICKLED JALAPENOS (from Everyday Food, June 2011)

Yields 2 pint jars

Ingredients

1/2 lb jalapenos (about 8)

2 medium carrots (cut into 1/4 inch rounds)

1.5 cups cider vinegar

2 cups water

2 bay leaves

2 teaspoons coarse salt

1 teaspoon sugar

1/4 teaspoon whole black peppercorns

Recipe

Cut stems off jalapenos and slice into 1/4 inch rounds. Put them in a big, heatproof glass bowl. Put carrots, vinegar, water, bay leaves, salt, sugar, and peppercorns in a saucepan and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. As soon as the mixture boils, reduce heat to a simmer for 2 minutes. Pour this mix over jalapenos, and let cool (about one hour). Store in an airtight container for 3 weeks or more.

Leave a Reply

