Thai-Spiced Pumpkin Soup

October 6, 2011

One of my best friends just moved to California. I am going to miss her so, so much.

Reed and I became friends through our husbands, who are in graduate school together. But we became great friends when we started training for a half marathon.

I learn so many little details about the lives of my running buddies. Many miles require a lot of minutes to be filled with conversation, and we wind up talking about whatever happens to be on our minds. Sometimes we talk about things of great substance. Other times, we talk about why I prefer Jif to Skippy peanut butter. When talking helps each mile tick by, our conversations resemble stream-of-consciousness. It leads effortlessly to close friendship.

Reed taught me to sew my Halloween costume last year. She helped me make jewelry for my bridesmaids. She introduced me to David Sedaris and gin martinis. She taught me the joys of dressing up and popsicles. Last year, she made our friend Kristina and me pumpkin soup on Halloween while we carved jack-o-lanterns.

This is not the same soup she made, but it’s a pumpkin soup, nonetheless. And a delicious one at that. Creamy, hearty, rich-tasting but healthy. And it even freezes well (no cream in this accidentally-vegan soup, folks). It’s a homage to fall, but mostly–in my mind, anyway, its a homage to Reed.

When I run on the bike path alone, I wonder what we’d talk about if she were here. Certainly the foilage, probably the weekend, possibly this pumpkin soup.

More posts involving Reed: Pasta Puttanesca, How to Have a Sick Time in Vegas, Bolognese Sauce

THAI SPICED PUMPKIN SOUP (from 101 Cookbooks)

This recipe is more of a guideline, and less of a formula. The curry paste I used the first time I made this was quite mild, so I used the whole jar! I bought a spicier one the next time, and only used a couple tablespoons.

A bowl of this soup, a crusty hunk of bread, and some salad greens topped with toasted pumpkin/squash seeds, dried cranberries, blue cheese, and balsamic vinegar is a great fall meal!

Serves 6

2 acorn squash, pumpkins, or other smallish winter squash
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
1 14-ounce can coconut milk
1 teaspoon (or more) red Thai curry paste
water or chicken broth
2 teaspoons fine grain sea salt (or to taste)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Put racks in middle of oven.

Cut pumpkin and/or squash into halves. Spread butter over them. Sprinkle liberally with salt. Place on baking sheet and bake until fork tender throughout (about one hour).

Once squash cool down enough to touch, scoop the flesh into a big pot. Add coconut milk and curry paste. Stir together and place on medium high heat. Once mixture starts to simmer, take off heat and puree soup with a hand blender. Soup will be VERY thick. Add water or chicken broth one cup at a time until you reach desired consistency. Simmer again, then taste, and add salt and more curry paste (if you like) to taste.

2 Responses to “Thai-Spiced Pumpkin Soup”

  1. David Keyes Says:

    Can you “second” a blog post? Although I’m not sure if its Reed that I’m missing or her pumpkin soup at the moment.

  2. Reed Keyes Says:

    That is the sweetest thing ever. I miss you too Elizabeth! (and I’ll bet your pumpkin soup is better than the one I made last year…)


Leave a Reply

